Made an update! And some reader interaction, please!

by psforsetti

I mostly played Sims today. I thought I was ready to start my book, but I really wasn’t. I did sit my butt down though earlier and I was determined to get SOMETHING written up. I felt my story was moving too slowly, so I made the decision to add an excerpt that I had written out previously to my Chapter 5 file. I’m still not sure if it’s a good idea to add it right now, but since it’s only draft 1, I don’t see it as too big of a deal. But chapter 5 is finally finished with 5,505 words in the file. Which means I only need to write one more chapter to meet my goal fro February. I can probably safely take things slower from now on, but I’m not sure on that. I’m only 4,025 words away from meeting my goal of 30,000 words for the month and chances are I’ll be doing more than just that, especially if I finish chapter 6 in time to write the bonus chapter for the month.

Now I am, however, having a big problem with the book. I have to age my main character up over the course of 4 years in this book and obviously I’m not going to be able to write day-by-day events unless they’re important to the story overall. The problem is, so much can happen over the course of one year, not to mention 4. But I can’t even think of one major thing to write about. I’ve already done a move, a family death, making friends, I’ve had a few school scenes, but my dreamscapes won’t be coming in for 2 years from where I’m at now. How do I fill n two years? If you have any ideas, I would greatly appreciate them! My main character starts out as 5 in the book, and is 9 by the end. My dreamscapes don’t come up until she’s 7, and I kind of know where I’m going from there, but it’s the filling in of those two years that I’m kind of stuck on. :/

